Recognising the talent of Monash University

The 2015 TeamMONASH Awards recognized the outstanding contribution of student athletes and volunteers from the Monash community in sport and community service. In it's 52nd year, the TeamMONASH Awards honoured over 40 students whose extra curricular achievements showcased the contribution that the university makes to the global community.

The 2015 TeamMONASH Award Winners

Throughout the night 31 students athletes' achievements were recognized with Blues Awards. The Blues Awards are the University's highest sporting awards.
The prestigious Male and Female Athlete of the Year Award, was awarded respectively to Thomas Sinclair and Nneka Okpala.
Nneka receiving her award

Nneka represented Monash University at the World University Games in Gwangju, South Korea, where she placed 8th in the women's triple jump. She is the current New Zealand Women's Triple Jump National Record Holder, as well as the reigning Victorian, New Zealand and Australian Athletics Championships Triple Jump Gold Medalist. With her eyes set firmly on the 2016 Rio Olympics, we want to congratulate Nneka on her many achievements this year and wish her all the best during the next 6 months of Olympic qualification.  


Thomas receiving his award

Tom represented Australia at the World Indoor Hockey Championships held in Germany this year, before returning to represent Monash University at the Southern and Australian University Games where he helped the Men's Hockey team win Gold at both events. He also received Green and Gold honours at the Australian University Games for the third consecutive year. The Monash Community would like to congratulate Tom on his many successes this year.  

The Varsity Team of the Year was awarded to the Men's Hockey team. The 2015 Men's Hockey Team defeated Melbourne University at the Annual Varsity Games, before being crowned Champions of both the Southern University Games and the Australian University Games.
The Club of the Year award went to the Monash University Boardriders Club for the second consecutive year. With over 500 members, the camps and training sessions held by the club helped the Monash Women's Surfing team come second at the Australian University Championships this year. The Monash Boardriders Club also participated in the Australian Disabled Surfers Initiative this year helping people with physical and mental disabilities enjoy getting in the water and surfing their first waves.

Fiona Canny won The Monash University Oaktree Foundation Volunteer Recognition Award. As a recent graduate of Monash University and the Deputy CEO of the Oaktree Foundation, Fiona led the foundations End Poverty Campaign.

The Service to the Community Award was won by the President of the Monash University Outdoors Club, Stefan Smith. Stefan has been a clear catalyst in MUOC's metamorphosis over the last two years that has seen it improve its services to the Monash Community.

TeamMONASH Director Martin Doulton said of the event, "It is a great privilege for the University community to recognise the achievements of  our student sports stars, performers and volunteers during the TeamMONASH awards night. Each individual makes a great contribution to the success of the University across so many fields of extra curricular activity and celebrates the positive impact that Monash students make to the community in which they live, work, study and play."

The 2015 Chancellor's Cup Golf Day

Held on the 13th of November at the prestigious Sandhurst Golf Club, the 2015 Chancellors Cup Golf Day was one to remember. The occasionally windy but nonetheless lovely day provided great conditions for the competition.

The 2015 CCGD winners from Yamaha City - from L to R: Ashley Nugawela, Erin Geraghty, David Jones and Michael Pettingill 

The first year team from Yamaha City of David Jones, Erin Geraghty, Ashley Nugawela and Michael Pettingill set an exceptionally high standard this year. The team clinched the win on their final hole, after besting the second placed team and last years winners, Harris HMC, by one shot.

In it's 18th year, the popular event attracted 63 golfers from throughout the Monash University community.

TeamMONASH Programs Coordinator Simon Dart said the golf day was an outstanding success. The feedback from participants about the golf day itself as well as the opportunities it provided for networking was fantastic. The event raised funds for Monash University's Talented Student Support Program and it's affiliated sporting clubs.

Competitors also enjoyed novelty hole challenges, with Thomas Power Horan winning the Longest Drive on Hole 9 and Tony West on Hole 11. With Peter Mitchell, James Wu and Andrew Hamer taking out respective Nearest to Pin titles on Holes 3, 10, and 15. The Straightest Drive on Hole 17 was also achieved by Julian Guy.

Check out our latest facebook event photo album: